Five crowned in Lake Delton at first UT Waterpark Classic

Ultimate Tournaments wrapped up its first Wisconsin Dells tournament of the 2020-21 season with a solid weekend of great play culminating with 10 Championship games on Sunday, November 15.

The Mite, Squirt and Peewee Division Championship games were split with five at the Lake Delton Ice Arena and five at Reedsburg Area Community Arena (RACA). Sauk Prairie Area Recreation Center (SPARC) and Pierce Park Pavilion in Baraboo also hosted games on a busy weekend.

Following is a look at the Lake Delton Ice Arena Championship matches in the order they were played



Omaha Jr. Mavericks 2 Peoria Jr. Rivs 1 (ot)

The Championship Day could not have gotten off to a better start as this duel came down to a last-minute howitzer and an overtime breakaway.

The Rivermen and Mavericks played in a four-team division and reached the Championship game with matching victories and a head-to-head preview in tightly packed group

Omaha grabbed a 3-1 win in its opener against St. Peter’s while Peoria earned a 5-0 shutout against Belle Tire peewees.

In their final round the Mavs edged Belle Tire 2-1 and the Rivs got by St. Peter’s 5-4. In between was the middle contest won by Omaha 3-0 against Peoria.

The Championship game featured almost 20 minutes of shutout hockey before Cruz Taylor converted a pass from Quinn Andrews to lift the Rivermen to a 1-0 lead that stood up all the way to the game’s final minute.

A desperate Omaha squad looked to draw level and defenseman Zoren Sobansky made it happen, His slapper from the blue line going through a crowd and making its way to the mesh just 45 seconds from the end.

Sam Coakley finished the comeback skating in alone from the red line and backhanding the game winner home with 2:37 to play in 4-on-4 overtime.

The Omaha Jr. Mavericks captured the Peewee B Championship at the first Ultimate Tournaments Waterpark Classic event of the year in Wisconsin Dells with a 2-1 overtime win against the Peoria Rivs. Jr. Mavs team members include:Kellen Mann; Brody Strohman; Conner Bash; Mason Baughman; John Fleming; Trey Sigmund III; Casey Gillilland; Gianni Bianchette; Zoren Sobansky; Jacob Ellison; Sam Coakley; Henry Lancaster; Logan Sibson; Ben Insko; Brian Strohman; Logan Voight and Dario Marez. Mavericks are coached by Karry Baughman; Mike Blanchette and Cody Sobansky.


Kirkwood Stars 7 Belle Tire Warriors 2

Another four-team division saw the Stars wrapping up a successful four-win weekend the same way it started, with a win against Belle Tire Warriors.

After a 4-3 win on Friday night against the Warriors, the Stars went on to a round-robin sweep with a 6-1 win against St. Louis area rival, Meramec Sharks and a 6-1 win against Sabres Hockey Saturday night.

Belle Tire rallied from its opening loss with a 6-1 win against Sabres Hockey on Saturday and an early morning 8-3 decision Sunday against Meramec Sharks.

The Stars set the tone in the opener with a first minute goal from Tristan Rojas who went on to add two others. Stars opened a 4-1 lead through the opening period and cruised from there. Other Kirkwood goals came from Louie Rolwes; Live Bowler; James Newman and Andrew Hallsten.

Joey Fragoso and Parker Vargo countered with the Belle Tire markers.

The Kirkwood Stars finished a perfect 4-0 weekend as Champions of the Ultimate Tournaments Waterpark Classic Squirt B-C Division. Team members include: James Newman; Christopher Schneithorst; Louie Rolwes; James Mignerone; Andrew Hallsten; Charles Thomson; Jack Pennington; Luke Robison; Steven Shapiro; Jackson Porter; Tristan Rojas; William Hulsen and Liv Bowler. The Stars are coached by Chip Hallsten; Adam Thomson; James Newman and Matt Bowler.



Rockford Roadrunners 2 Glacier Ice Dogs 0

A small, but thrilling division ultimately wrapped up with the Roadrunners capturing a 2-0 shutout against Glacier Ice Dogs.

Glacier grabbed a 6-1 win against Peoria in its first game on the Friday night and promise of a thrilling championship came out of a 3-3 draw against the Roadrunners

Roadrunners wrapped up round robin play with a 5-0 win against Peoria on Saturday, the shutout playing a part in the Rockford crew gaining a bye to the championship game while the Ice Dogs needed a 5-0 win against Peoria in an early Sunday morning semi-final.

Jayger Guffey scored the only goal Roadrunners needed with 5:09 to go in the opening period with an assist for Kash Cassalena. Guffey added another for insurance in the final seconds of the second period with another assist for Cassalena.

Backstopping the win was Roadrunners goaltender Raef Gibler with a nine-save shutout.

Rockford Roadrunners were winners of the Mite AA Division at the Ultimate Tournaments Wisconsin Dells Waterpark Classic November 15, winning the championship game against Glacier Ice Dogs.



Kankakee Coyotes 5 Rockford Roadrunners 3

Again, two teams that kicked off against each other were the last two standing in this Division as well.

The Coyotes grabbed a 5-1 win against the Roadrunners Friday night, then rolled through the rest of the weekend with a pair of 5-0 shutouts against both Crystal Lake Stingers and Wisconsin Jets.

The Roadrunners also grabbed 5-0 goose eggs against both teams, setting up the rematch in the Championship game.

The Roadrunners hit the board first in the finale and carried a 1-0 lead out of the opening period. Coyotes struck for a pair of unanswered second period goals, but teams were even again early in the third.

Two goals in a little more than two minutes put the Coyotes in front to stay. The Roadrunners were within a goal, scoring with 3:33 to play, but an empty netter with 26 ticks on the clock wrapped up the Kankakee win.

Kerner, Renchen, Curwick, Merten and Warner had the Coyote goals, Brayden Washin, Michael Wagner, and Mason Lampe responding for the Roadrunners.

Kankakee Coyotes captured the Mite B Championship Trophy at the Ultimate Tournaments Wisconsin Dells Waterpark Classic November 15.



Meramec Sharks 7 Rockford Roadrunners 1

After dropping its first game, the Sharks rallied back all the way to a championship.

The Sharks started out with a 3-1 loss to the Northwest Chicago Rebels Saturday morning, but struck back with a 6-1 win against Peoria and a 5-0 shutout in an early Sunday meeting with the Roadrunners.

Meanwhile, Rockford started with a 4-0 shutout against Peoria and got by Kirkwood Stars 4-1 before running into the Sharks.

In the Championship game, Jack Ortyl and Jack Steve led the Sharks with a two-goal games with others added by Braden Messmer, Kipton Feager, Connor Flynn and Ode Lape. William Taylor, Aiden Beuchting, Tyler Strothman, Braden Messmer and Shane Dressel picked up assists.

Jacob Wagner notched the lone Roadrunners goal, unassisted.

The Meramec Sharks captured the Squirt A White Division championship at Ultimate Tournaments Waterpark Classic in Wisconsin Dells Nov. 15 with a 7-1 win Rockford Roadrunners. Team members include Aiden Beuchting, Braden Messmer, Carson Simmons, Henry Schneider, Jack Ortyl, Jack Stebe, Kipton Feager, Ode Lape, Shane Dressel, Tyler Strotham, William Taylor, Wyatt Westbrock and Camden Wooderson. The Sharks are coached by William Taylor, Bill Flynn and Kyle Simmons.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.